Swipe left or right to view images.


The East of Scotland Open Amateur Stroke Play Championship started in 1973 at Lundin Golf Club and the Links at Lundin is the permanent venue for this prestigious event.

Since its inception, players have entered from as far afield as Argentina, Australia, South Africa, USA, Dubai, Canada, New Zealand, Norway, Ivory Coast and Morocco.

With the exceptions of Australians (Brad Lamb in 1998 and Rohan Blizard in 2008), Scottish golfers, all of whom played for Scotland at some level, have won the title. Legends of Scottish golf such as George Macgregor, Sandy Stephen and Richie Ramsay are former winners. with 2019 Walker Cup players Euan Walker and Sandy Scott two of the more recent champions. Lundin member James White has been the person to beat in recent years, having landed the title in 2017 and 2021.

The Championship attracts the best amateur golfers in Scotland and counts towards the Scottish Golf Order of Merit and the Scottish Amateur Golf Ranking. The Championship is also a counting event for the R&A/USGA World Amateur Golf Ranking. The Championship broke new ground in 2021 by becoming the first elite amateur event in Scotland to feature women and men playing for the same prize.

The professionalism, associated with the running of the Championship in terms of scoring systems, practice facilities and the warm welcome received at Lundin, has resulted in the East of Scotland being one of the most popular weekends of the year for the elite players.